none
vb.net CInt

Question

• Hi everyone.

Please could someone help me with this.

I have read and watch so many videos and threads, but cant work this out, I am trying to add value to a variable called ( Value1 ) with no luck.

Public Sub Values()
            Dim TextInt As String = ToolStripComboBox1.Text               'I know this part works         
            Dim NumberInt As Integer
            NumberInt = CInt(TextInt)
            Value1 = NumberInt        
        End Sub

Really sorry if this is so simple but I am new to programming.

I also Tried Covert.ToInt32 that doesn't work either

Thursday, March 8, 2018 1:56 PM

Answers

• NOTE: the function will always return a valid Integer. If the string passed to it cannot be changed to an Integer the function will return 0 (zero). The advantage in using a Function is that anywhere you want to change a string to an Integer then the Function can be used. (other numeric types are available too)

Function GetInteger(s As String) As Integer
     Dim v As Integer = 0
     If Integer.TryParse(s, v) Then Return v
     Return 0
    End Function

Regards Les, Livingston, Scotland

You could also return a nullable integer to handle string conversion errors without having a "default" value:

Function GetInteger(s As String) As Integer?
        Dim v As Integer = 0
        Return Nothing
    End Function

Reed Kimble - "When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all"

• Marked as answer by Justin Shears Thursday, March 8, 2018 4:14 PM
    Thursday, March 8, 2018 3:41 PM
  • Hi everyone.

I have read and watch so many videos and threads, but cant work this out, I am trying to add value to a variable called ( Value1 ) with no luck.

Public Sub Values()
            Dim TextInt As String = ToolStripComboBox1.Text               'I know this part works         
            Dim NumberInt As Integer 'WHAT is in TextInt here
            Value1 = NumberInt        
        End Sub