none
VS2012 Lightswitch screen build RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Visual Studio and Lightswitch so I figured it would be worthwhile for me to follow along with the Beth Massi(?) tutorials and do exactly what she does... keystroke for keystroke... in the tutorials.

I never even made it past the second tutorial when several issues came up.  First... pressing F5 to start the project does not result in the creation of the project like the tutorial shows... instead it says that the build was successful but it never produces the screen, it just hangs on the design screen.  After several minutes, when I select the stop bebug button, the system hangs for a minute and then produces an error message saying that debug did not fully stop. 

If I don't use F5 to "Play" but instead use the dropdown menu in debug and tell it to start without debug it does produce the screen almost like the tutorial but there are several significant difference.   First, there is no navigation panel on the left of my screen but the tutorial clearly says there should be.  Second, the ribbon across the top is totally different from the one produced in the tutorial and the icons are not only in different locations, they are also quite pathetic looking.  Also... the Design button is located on the lower right of my screen instead of the upper right as in the tutorial.

Any suggestions?  I think I really need that navigation panel... it's the only way the user will be able to navigate through the screens in my finished project.

Thanks.

Ed

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 3:44 AM

Answers