none
WPF vs. Windows Forms

Question

• Lately I have been doing some research into WPF and Windows Forms and trying to find out which one is the best to use. I have been trying to find information and have found articles / blog entries / and forum threads which pretty much contradict each other.. I can understand that people are advocates for one approach but what i am trying to do is create an objective view about the pros and cons about each technique.

Please understand that I'm a newbie in both, and that i'm only trying to learn from this. Feel free to add to the list, I am very interested in your comments.

WPF vs. Windows Forms

WPF
    + Powerfull styling and skinning structure
    + Easy to create an own Look and Feel
    + Does support Windows Forms
    + The future technology for developing Vista Applications
    + The ability to reuse existing code
    + Highly advanced databinding possible
    - Declarative vs procedural code
    - Requires .NET Framework 3.0
    - Compared to Windows Forms, still in development fase
    - Requires Dx9 compatible vidcard for advanced graphics

Windows Forms:
    + Extensive documentation to be found on the internet
    + Plenty of examples
    + Does support WPF
    - How long will this be supported? (I've read somewhere that Microsoft is only developing WPF now, only maintanance for Winforms)
    - Design your own look and feel in a application is a lot of work.
    Tuesday, December 18, 2007 9:40 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I would say that was a +, not a -. If there is a declarative approach to doing what I want, I will favour it over procedural code. Declarative approaches can be inflexible, but the "code-behind" nature of WPF means that you can cover a lot of ground robustly in a declarative style, and plug the gaps procedurally.