none
Debugging MMC SnapIn in VS 2015 RRS feed

• Question

• I need to debug a snapin dll source code written in C++ in VS2015.

I am new to this MMC and snapin development. Please anyone guide me with steps or any available tutorial to how to debug line by line code of my snapin dll.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks & Regards, Mayank Agarwal

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 9:30 AM

All replies

• Wednesday, May 15, 2019 9:34 AM
  • Hello,

this should help you debugging a dll code in your project: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/16546703/visual-studio-debugging-a-referenced-dll-i-have-source-in-another-sln

Regards, Guido

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 9:34 AM
  • Maybe you can see :  MMC Advanced Topics (How-To Test a Snap-in)

I referred this link but here it says"Under the ‘Debug’ settings in the project properties, select the ‘Start external program’ radio button and enter the full path to mmc.exe. When the snap-in runs, you will be able to debug it." I couldnt find this feature(radio button) in my Visual Studio 2015. and after compiling the snapin, do I need to register my snapin with regsvr32 command before debugging?

kindly suggest.

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 10:01 AM
  • Maybe you can see :  MMC Advanced Topics (How-To Test a Snap-in)

I referred this link but here it says"Under the ‘Debug’ settings in the project properties, select the ‘Start external program’ radio button and enter the full path to mmc.exe. When the snap-in runs, you will be able to debug it." I couldnt find this feature(radio button) in my Visual Studio 2015. and after compiling the snapin, do I need to register my snapin with regsvr32 command before debugging?

kindly suggest.

That's probably referring to an old version of VS.

In VS2015 you can tell the debugger to run an external program (i.e., mmc.exe) by specifying it as the command in the dll project's property page in the following location  -