none
Avoid program to be unresponsive RRS feed

• Question

• Lets say I have a button that executes the following code (its a kind of service used for sending sms)

Dim obj As New Class1
    Dim strPostResponse2 As String = obj.SendSMS("username", "password", "919897100000", "Dear Partner, your outstanding balance towards Endurance Corp is Rs 1,50,000.00 as on 22-02-2018. Please process the payment, have a great day !")
    Now, when I click the button, its send the sms to the user. Now, here comes the problem, depending on the speed of the Internet sometimes it sends quickly and sometimes it takes longer to send thus making my program unresponsive for few seconds. I am new to vb.net environment, I need this to be done in background so that my program should not become unresponsive, can someone help me out ?

Thursday, February 22, 2018 3:15 PM

Answers

• See the following example if using VS2015 or higher in regards to the last click event using Async.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.
    VB Forums - moderator
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

• Marked as answer by Sid Williams Wednesday, March 7, 2018 1:04 PM
    Thursday, February 22, 2018 3:42 PM

All replies

• See the following example if using VS2015 or higher in regards to the last click event using Async.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.
    VB Forums - moderator