none
How does C#.NET compare to VB.NET? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all!  I’d like to know some pros and cons of C#.NET and better understand how it compares to VB.NET.  I’ve studied VB.NET for about 1 year.  I have been reading several 1,000+ page books on VB.NET and I have reading through discussion group posts on my own.  I have no formal classroom education and very little formal training…with the exception of developing one web site for a friend using ASP.NET and VB-code-behind.  I am now trying to teach myself C# (I’ve been at it for a couple months now).  I have been programming in VBA for 7 years.

Basically, I’d like to know how C#.NET compares to VB.NET.  I’ve seen a couple web sites that literally convert VB.NET into C#.NET (and vice versa).  It seems like the syntax is similar, and it seems like the functionality is similar.   Am I right?  I am thinking of getting away from VB.Net and focusing just on C#.NET.  Again, I know VBA quite well and thus I fell like I don’t have to spend significant time learning VB.NET (which seems VERY similar).  Also, it seems like many employers want people with strong C#-skills, right.

Can someone offer some tips, comments, suggestions, advice, etc.

Thanks!!

Ryan---

Sunday, August 1, 2010 2:12 AM

Answers

• Hi There,

I have been using VB6  then VB.net and then C# since longtime.

There are few things in each language which you can't do in other.

But I enjoyed C# the most while programming. 

Following is a brief comparison of C# and VB..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_C_Sharp_and_Visual_Basic_.NET

Here are quick lessons if you want to move from VB to C#..

http://www.harding.edu/fmccown/vbnet_csharp_comparison.html

Mubi | http://mrmubi.com | Mark The Best Replies As Answers!
    Sunday, August 1, 2010 9:26 AM
  • IMO

They do the same.. Sure, one might have a few prebuilt libraries that the other doesnt, but that doesnt mean that it cant be done on either side.