none
Disable visually impairing ClearType in WPF?

Question

• Hello,

I'm a developer and spend quite a bit of time on the computer.

After upgrading to the latest expression betas, I noticed the expression products got a nice UI overhaul.  They look nice!

However, I wear glasses for viewing objects in the distance because of my myopic vision and I do not use my glasses while working on the computer because I can see things quite clearly up close.

I've tried ClearType technology in the past, and tried various ClearType PowerToy tweak settings and still find that clear type anti-aliases fonts and makes them appear "blurry", "fuzzy" and "soft".  After working with the new expression products with ClearType enabled for about 3 minutes, my eyes begin to tire and I begin to feel a discomfort from using the expression products because of the ClearType blurred text.  Keep in mind, the rest of my system does NOT use ClearType (yet it seems to be programmatically enabled with products using WPF).  I am wondering why in the world would Microsoft PMs and Architects make a design decision to forcibly enable ClearType rendering in WPF apps and NOT respect system wide settings (leaving inconsistent feels between WPF, non-WPF, AND the operating system)......

Anyway, Apps with ClearType turned OFF, I can see ridged edges of fonts displayed on my system, and to me, seeing fonts with ridged edges is a visual aid for my eyes that make me feel my eyes are in focus.  In addition, all characters rendered without ClearType have the same levels of intensities.