none
Visual Studio 2019 Libraries like RestSDK for C++ RRS feed

• Question

• How do I install and use Visual Studio libraries such as RestSDK with C++.

It's not clear to me if RestSDK is already include when Visual Studio 2019 was installed, or if I need to add it.

I see RestSDK on Git, but the instructions using VCMgr indicate I need to set up some kind of automatic update so each time I Build, a new version of the library may be installed.  I don't want that moving target with a production app.  I would prefer to update any libraries on my schedule.

How do I install the RestSDK library? 

How do I specify where it will be located? 

How do I reference that library in my code?

Should I use NuGet?

I saw a library on NuGet with Rest and Soap capability which could be useful.  It''s not a Microsoft library, it by some person.  How do I know if the code is stable or appropriate to use?

I'm trying to set up an appropriate development environment for production apps.  I'm new to Visual Studio and would appreciate some guidance.

Thanks much.

Friday, November 22, 2019 1:39 PM

All replies

• Please post links to what you are asking about.

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

Friday, November 22, 2019 5:00 PM
  • Hi GBears,

Welcome to MSDN forum.

According to your description,

>>It's not clear to me if RestSDK is already include when Visual Studio 2019 was installed, or if I need to add it.

## You could add the REST SDK to a project by using NuGet. For NuGet and NuGet Package Manager, they are automatically installed with any .NET-related workloads. You could install it individually by selecting the Individual components -> Code tools -> NuGet package manager option in the VS installer. You could refer to the link.

>> How do I install the RestSDK library? 

## You’re using VS2019. So you could install it by the following steps:

#1. right-click References or a project

#2. select Manage NuGet Packages…