none
Writing to a 2 dimensional string array RRS feed

• Question

• As you can see I am new to C# I tried many things it just would not work. Please suggest a fix for the the two lines with the comment. 

using System; 
    using System.Xml.Linq;

class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
    string Event1 = "<Event MSec= \"14710.1843\" PID=\"1820\" PName=        \"\" TID=\"21844\" EventName=\"ErrorEvent\" ProviderName=\"Abcd\" ErrorMsg=\"The brown fox jumps over the white moon \" ErrorID=\"4,660\"/>";
    string[, ,] EventData = new string[100, 100, 1000];      // Array with 100 elements, string one 100 char length, string 2 1000 char length

var xdoc = XDocument.Parse(Event1);
    var root = xdoc.Root;
    int i = 0;

foreach (var node in xdoc.DescendantNodes()) 

foreach (XElement element in xdoc.Descendants("Event"))
    {
    foreach (XAttribute attrib in element.Attributes())
    {
    Console.WriteLine(String.Format("\t{0}={1}\n", attrib.Name, attrib.Value));
    //I want to store attrib.Name, attrib.Value in a 2 dimensional string array
    EventData[i++] = {{attrib.Name, attrib.Value}};   // This does not work
    }
    }
    }
    }

Thanks

Friday, May 24, 2019 5:19 AM

Answers

• Greetings Ananda.

I'm not sure exactly what you are after, but I think it might be something like this.

using System; 
    using System.Xml.Linq;

class Program
    {
        {
    string Event1 = "<Event MSec= \"14710.1843\" PID=\"1820\" PName=        \"\" TID=\"21844\" EventName=\"ErrorEvent\" ProviderName=\"Abcd\" ErrorMsg=\"The brown fox jumps over the white moon \" ErrorID=\"4,660\"/>";
    string[,] EventData = new string[100, 2]; // Array of 200 strings, arranged in 100 rows of two columns (2 dimensional array).

var root = xdoc.Root;
    int i = 0;

{
    {

EventData[i, 0] = attrib.Name; // First column.
    EventData[i, 1] = attrib.Value; // Second column.
    i++;
    }
    }
    }
    } 

Friday, May 24, 2019 5:29 AM