none
List Files in a folder

Question

• Hello, I am very new to programming and would like some help. I need a program that will search in a supplied folder and list all PDF type of file in a text box, and then have the operator select the file to open. 

Can someone show me the code to do this?

Thanks Jac

Thursday, October 09, 2014 9:40 AM

Answers

• Here is how I would.

''' <summary>
        ''' Returns the path to a pdf file that the user selected. Returns a blank if the user cancelled.
        ''' </summary>
        ''' <returns></returns>
        ''' <remarks></remarks>
        Function OpenPDF() As String
            Dim OFD As New OpenFileDialog
            OFD.Filter = "Pdf Files|*.pdf"
            If OFD.ShowDialog = DialogResult.OK Then
                Return OFD.FileName
            End If
            Return ""
        End Function

“If you want something you've never had, you need to do something you've never done.”

Don't forget to mark helpful posts and answers ! Answer an interesting question? Write a new article about it! My Articles
    *This post does not reflect the opinion of Microsoft, or its employees.

Thursday, October 09, 2014 9:17 PM

All replies

• Rather than having someone write the code for you, I think you will learn more if you try to write it yourself and ask questions about anything you get stuck with. You can find detailed documentation on the .Net Framework by searching in the Library. Here are some methods that can get you started.

• Directory.GetFiles will return an array containing all the files in a directory that match a pattern. You will need to add the statement Imports System.IO at the start of your code file.
    • You might want to display the list in a ListBox rather than a TextBox. That will make it easier for the user to select one.
    • Another way of letting the user select a file of a particular type is to use OpenFileDialog.

Thursday, October 09, 2014 10:32 AM