none
Custom footer icons RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, all.

I would like to know if someone might be willing to provide some assistance, hopefully with some sample code, of how to wire up the '_postRender' code of a button in order to allow use a custom button icon in the footer of a HTMLClient screen. I've tried all of the logical things I can think of, but cannot seem to figure out how to achieve this. 

I'm new to LS for VS2012 and I'm not a programmer by trade. But, I do create and maintain web-to-print portals as part of my daily job, so I'm very familiar with SQL web applications and am experienced in writing and editing HTML, CSS and jQuery. I've even done some basic development in C#. 

After reading quite a few LS tutorial articles and watching many of the available videos over the past week, I was able to successfully create and deploy a fairly simple 3-tier project. The application is hosted on web server running Windows Server 2008, and is connected to a separate SQL database server, also running Windows Server 2008.

I created an initial 'Browse Data' screen in tile format, a 'View Details' screen, and an 'Add/Edit Screen.' After confirming that the application was working as expected, I created a second 'Browse Data' screen that is connected to a different SQL query. This screen is also formatted in list format, rather than tile format. 

I added a button to the Command Bar in each of the 'Browse Data' screens, which loads the opposite screen. I wanted to change the icon on one of these buttons to a custom icon, so I chose 'Custom' from the Icon dropdown, then played around with various jQuery statements in the '_postRender' event of the button.