none
ref class VS. value class

Question

• HI everyone,

I am new in C++.NET 2005 world and there is something that makes me a little crazy:

What is the difference between ref class and value class also ref struct and value struct?

Which type of classes (ref or value) I should create for my applications?

I hope anyone who have the answer helps me to figure this out of me.

Sunday, November 12, 2006 11:18 PM

Answers

• It was weekend - so be patient with us ;)

class and struct are just different in that class members are private by default and struct are public by default.

ref class or struct will create reference types. They are created on the managed heap and only references (like pointers when you think of it natively) to those objects are stored and passed.

value class or struct are value types. When you pass them around as parameters or as members the whole memory block will be transferred. So you sould use value types only for small data types.

Your default should always be ref class, only for quite simple types like Point or Color in the framework you would choose value struct.

--
    SvenC

Monday, November 13, 2006 8:19 AM
  • Regarding class vs struct, as in the non-.net C++ world there is no real reason for having both.  I've always found it mystifying that both are included when the only difference is the default access level (I've heard that the reason is to accommodate migration from C, but that's a pretty lame reason for the extra baggage given search/replace).  So, you're probably better off to forget about "struct" altogether and focus on the difference between "ref class" and "value class" (as the others have explained so well).

If you're familiar with C#, additional confusion arises due to C# having a "struct" which is identical to the C++/CLI "value class", not the C++/CLI "struct".

David Anton
    www.tangiblesoftwaresolutions.com
    Instant C#: VB to C# converter
    Instant VB: C# to VB converter