none
error LNK2005 RRS feed

• Question

• I am going to build a plugin for a well known CAD software in the form of a COM dll. For convenience, the CAD vendor has supplied a Visual Studio 10 C++ application wizard so I used that to quickly build the basis. I tested to build it and it worked. Then I added a COM class by using "Project-Add Class-ATL Simple Object". After that it fails when building it. I get some kind of linking error which I cannot find the solution to. I am only a hobby programmer but I have built COM dll's before so I am not a complete novice at least. I hope that someone have som idea of what can be wrong and can share it with me.

My project is called: KTICP
    The wizard added a COM class called: KTICPAddin
    The COM class I added myself is called: ClutchArmTester

This is the error message I get when building the project:
    1>KTICP_i.obj : error LNK2005: _IID_IClutchArmTester already defined in KTICP.obj
    1>KTICP_i.obj : error LNK2005: _LIBID_KTICPLib already defined in KTICP.obj
    1>KTICP_i.obj : error LNK2005: _CLSID_KTICPAddin already defined in KTICP.obj
    1>KTICP_i.obj : error LNK2005: _CLSID_ClutchArmTester already defined in KTICP.obj

The KTICP.idl file looks like this:

[
    object,
    uuid(F523C797-3220-45EA-95EE-826532448766),
    pointer_default(unique)
    ]
    interface IClutchArmTester : IUnknown{
    };
    [
    uuid(6E99D6C5-8E18-4C0C-9B52-17E0B9DBE700),
    version(1.0),
    helpstring("KTICP 1.0 Type Library")
    ]

library KTICPLib
    {
    importlib("stdole32.tlb");
    importlib("stdole2.tlb");
    importlib("icapifoundation.tlb");

[
    uuid(F7EB609F-0A27-454A-BA57-7C885BF46091),
    helpstring("KTICP Addin Object")
    ]
    coclass KTICPAddin
    {
    [default] interface IZAddinServer;
    };

[
    uuid(88A78CDC-4370-449B-AA53-C7C11CE2D35D),
    helpstring("ClutchArmTester Class")
    ]
    coclass ClutchArmTester
    {
    [default] interface IClutchArmTester;
    };
    };