SSIS project error: could not retrieve the table information for the connection manager 'excel connection manager' RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to SSIS. For my practice, I want to transfer data from excel to SQL Server.

1. I have created a connection manager for MS SQL Server (by selecting Connection manager for OLE DB Connections)

2. Another connection manager for EXCEL file

3. I have added an excel source to the Data Flow.

4. Now, I'm trying to edit the Excel source so that I can view the data inside the Excel file which throws following error.

"could not retrieve the table information for the connection manager 'excel connection manager' Failed to connect to the source using the connection manager ...

After searching a lot on Google including stackoverflow, I found several causes for this error. 

1. SQL Data Tools is for version 32bit. So, install "Microsoft Access Database Engine 2010"

2. Change DataMigration Property page configurations.  Change Run64BitRuntime to False. 

3. Change Excel Connection manager options "Excel Version" to "Microsoft Excel 97-2003" and to other options as well.

4. Make sure that excel file that I am trying to pull data from is not open while doing all these.

Tried every option found on the Internet but nothing worked. Now, I just want to get this fixed no matter what. Any suggestions to fix this issue would be greatly appreciated.

[I wanted to include screenshots of everything but it says I must be a verified user to do so. So, pls help me out]

Thanks and regards,

Sushma

• Edited by sushmaGS Tuesday, April 4, 2017 10:53 PM
    Tuesday, April 4, 2017 10:51 PM

All replies

• Hi Sushma,

Do not walk in the dark, check what version of Excel you have installed, bitness vs. what SSIS is using driver.

What SSIS version is also important because the older ones support the older versions of Excel.

Likely, you are trying to process a newer version of the Excel file than your SSIS driver.

So yes, update the driver (opt 1).