SSRS error: Failure sending mail: The report server has encountered a configuration error. Mail will not be resent. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am currently using SQL Server Reporting Services 2012. I have a few subscriptions emails that i have created. A few days ago, i discovered these weren't working and were giving me the status: Failure sending mail. The report server has encountered a configuration error. Mail will not be sent.

Our administrator has not touched anything and suddenly email (subscriptions) reports have stopped working. 

To configure the subscriptions initially I followed these instructions:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms159155.aspx#bkmk_use_configuration_manager

I have checked the log details and cannot see anything glaringly obvious. Has anyone encountered this error and how did you resolve it.

Thanks

Friday, October 11, 2013 2:26 PM

Answers

• Hi Ziako, 

First, I suggest you to confirm whether the Report Server Service Account is a domain account. Secondly, please check that whether there is error message like “The report server has encountered a configuration error. AuthzInitializeContextFromSid: Win32 error: 1355” in the log file. If so, please see the following analysis. 

While delivering subscriptions by email, the Reporting Services program need call the AuthzInitializeContextFromSid API function that is defined in the Authz.dll file. If you create and process the e-mail subscription by using a domain user account that is different from the service logon account of the Reporting Services Windows service, theAuthzInitializeContextFromSid API function call may fail. In this case, we should configure the Reporting Services Windows service to run under a domain user account. However, if the issue persists, it may occur if the Reporting Services Service Account cannot read the TGGAU attribute on the subscription owners.