none
Create calculated measures as row level

Question

• Hi, 

I am new to SSAS. I have the following scenario and not sure how to address it

I have a Fact Table as below and fed to my SSAS Cube, i need to create a  few complex  Calculated metric based on the available metric from my Fact Table (eg of simple calculated Metric is Price = Revenue/Sales Volume.)

When it comes to Cube, users want to see metric as rows (as we have 80 over metrics) and not as calculated columns, how can i achieve that. My final output should be similar to below fact based on the slicers the users pick up. Since the Price metric is non aggreagatable an cannot be rolled up i have issues. 

Appreciate if anyone could throw light on this or provide any links to any samples

Metric, Company, Commodity all has Hierarchy to it

Company Commodity Product Counterparty Metric MeasureValue
    A C1 P1   SalesVolume 1000
    A C1 P1 CP1 Revenue 5000
    A C1 P1 CP2 Revenue 10000

Thanks

Hema

Tuesday, March 21, 2017 3:17 AM

All replies

• Hi Hema,

Thanks for your question.

If i understand you correctly, "Price" metric should be aggragatable dimension. To get the desired results,you can just do a crossjoin with all these dimension.

See my sample MDX query in Adventure Works below:
    select [Measures].[Order Count] on 0,
    [Product].[Category].&[1]*
    [Product].[Subcategory].[Subcategory]*
    [Product].[Size].[Size]*
    [Product].[Class].[Class]*
    [Product].[Weight].[Weight]*
    [Product].[Size Range].[Size Range] on 1
    from [Adventure Works]

Best Regards
    Willson Yuan
    MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com

Tuesday, March 21, 2017 7:09 AM
  • Hi Wilson,

Thanks for your quick response.