none
SQL Agent Job using Proxy failing with "reason: Error authenticating proxy Domain\Account, system error: The user name or password is incorrect." RRS feed

• Question

• Re: SQL Agent Job using Proxy failing with "reason: Error authenticating proxy Domain\Account, system error: The user name or password is incorrect."

I want to run a SQL AGent job that does a CmdExec to stop a service "c:\windows\system32\net stop "IBM Cognos:9313"". Unfortunately the SQL Agent Service got an access is denied. So I setup Credentials using my Active Directory Domain\Account credentials. I am a system admin in SQL and on the Server. Then setup a proxy using my new Credentials and made it active to the CmdExec subsystem. Also added every 'NT%'  account principal.

But when i run the SQL Agent Job, which I changed the step "Run as" to use the new proxy, I get the error "reason: Error authenticating proxy Domain\Account, system error: The user name or password is incorrect.."

My AD account had been locked out by running the sql agent job, so i know that it is hitting my DA account. And I know that the password for the Credientials is correct. So what is up?

• Edited by TheBrenda Wednesday, January 22, 2020 10:21 PM edit
    Wednesday, January 22, 2020 10:17 PM

All replies

• Sounds more like Windows question than a T-SQL question...

It could be that you don't have permission to log on to that server.

It could be that you don't have permission to log on as a service or similar.

Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esquel@sommarskog.se

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 11:10 PM
  • Hi TheBrenda, 

Thank you for your issue . 

Per your description, I think your issue might be related to Windows or Engine.  If so, please post your issue in the corresponding forum and you will get more professional help  .     Windows Forum  SQL Server Database Engine

Also , I find some related articles . Hope it will help you.