none
Tabular Model Design RRS feed

• Question

• Before I ask this question, I'd like to say that I am a completely self taught BI person and don't have any official training in dimensional data modeling or data warehousing. I have been in programming for 17 years and have been working with building and maintaining a complete Microsoft BI Solution for the last year.

Initially, the BI solution started out as a Multi Dimensional Cube with HEAVILY flattened Dim and Fact tables.  It took a very long time to get the data from a relational design and into a dimensional format.  After that, I had a lot of problems with data validation/cube errors that made the process even longer.  After 3 months, I had a sales cube and some sales reports written in SSRS

A few months later, I was asked to train a non-programmer to build cubes and write reports and after 3 months of on/off assistance and requests for more cubes/reports, I started moving to tabular models which is much more forgiving of unclean data and inexperienced developers.

While researching tabular models, I read that tabular design is much closer to relational design than multi dimensional data and there was no more need for separate FACT tables.  I got excited because I thought this would speed up the model/cube design.

I imported the same sales data BUT, instead of having 1-2 huge flattened tables, used relationships between the core tables (the way I had read about).  I tested the model in Excel and immediately found problems with the functionality.  Although this happened months ago, I still don't understand the behavior and are still having to heavily flatten the data because of it.

Here is a copy of the model for reference (I'm also using SQL 2016 now instead of 2014)