none
Visual Studio 2012: How to insert VBA code at the Application or Project Level RRS feed

• Question

• Version:  Visual Studio 2012

Problem:  I want to insert the following VBA code into Visual Studio and don't know how to do it.  Also I don't know if I should insert this at the Application or Project Level.  I need this code to streamline the "Divide by Zero" error when working in SSRS projects.  I looked on-line and it was mentioned that the Developer Ribbon was needed and to get the Developer Ribbon I would need to install Office Developer Tools for Visual Studio 2012.  I'm new to Visual Studio, but have been programming in VBA for a long-time.  Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Divide by Zero Code:

In the Menu; go to Report > Report Properties > Code and paste the code bellow

Public Function Quotient(ByVal numerator As Decimal, denominator As Decimal) As Decimal
            If denominator = 0 Then
                Return 0
            Else
                Return numerator / denominator
            End If
        End Function

To call the function go to the the Textbox expression and type:

=Code.Quotient(SUM(fields!FieldName.Value),SUM(Fields!FieldName2.Value))

in this case I am putting the formula at the Group level so I am using sum. Otherwise it would be:

=Code.Quotient(fields!FieldName.Value,Fields!FieldName2.Value)

From <http://williameduardo.com/development/ssrs/ssrs-divide-by-zero-error/>

Bob Sutor

Thursday, October 8, 2015 6:13 PM

Answers

• Hi ConstPM,

In Reporting Services, we can embed custom code in the report. The code is added at the report level. For more information, please refer to this article: Add Code to a Report (SSRS).

In your scenario, the code which you have found in the article can be added into the report. In report design surface, open Report->Report Properties->Code tab. Please refer to screenshots below:

If you have any question, please feel free to ask.

Best regards,
    Qiuyun Yu

Qiuyun Yu