none
Object reference not set to an instance of an object. Unable to finish the SQL 2012 installation on a VM Machine RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, My name is Leonard and I am studying SQL. I have downloaded the newest MS SQL 2012 and also MS 2012 Hyper-V. I have set a MS 2012 Hyper-V on a laptop with AMD Turion 64 X2 and 3G of RAM (Planing to add more to max at 8G).

Following the instructions in the free online Administering Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Databases” Training Kit, I have set 6 virtual machines as instructed in the Training Kit. While the installation of the MS Server Core 2008 R2 SP1 completed with no problem, the same cannot be said for the SQL Server 2012 installation. I have encountered an error that I have not seen anyone address in any of the SQL web forums.

After running the unattended setup instruction (Setup.exe /qs /ACTION=Install /FEATURES=SQLEngine /INSTANCENAME=MSSQLSERVER /SQLSVCACCOUNT="Njowa\Pa$$worD>" /SQLSVCPASSWORD=" Pa$$worD” /SQLSYSADMINACCOUNTS="Njowa\lenny#4!@" /AGTSVCACCOUNT="NT AUTHORITY\Network Service"  /IACCEPTSQLSERVERLICENSETERMS) this is what I get after a series SQL setup  initiation windows popups then disappears.

The following error occurred:

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Error result: -2147467261

Result facility Code: 0

Result error Code: 16387

Please review the summary.txt log for further details

My question is: What instance of an object is not properly initialize in the Setup instructions

Saturday, January 5, 2013 12:27 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hello,

Please note that SQL Server requires at least 1 GB of RAM. The operating system (Windows Server) requires 2 GB of RAM (recommended) or 512 MB (minimum). This means any virtual machine that will receive the installation of a SQL Server instance requires 1.5 or 2 GB at least.