none
Dynamic Oledb Destination RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am a beginner for the SSIS and would like to know how to modify the OLDEB Destination connectionString property at run time like using "for each loop container".

My requirement is that I have a single source which would be Sql Server 2005 and my destination is in MS-Access database residing in 100 places. I do not want to manually design in the data flow to these 100 destinations.

I have all the destinations stored in a table and would like to pick these destinations from the table and loop through the same at run time by modifying destination connection string.

I have planned using dts but the for each loop container does not work through as it works with flat file connection manager , but does not go well with OLDEB connection.

Highly appreciate any help in this regard.

Regards

Sameer

Sunday, February 5, 2006 6:11 AM

Answers

• You would use a variable to hold the table name, and use the "Table name or view name variable" option under Data Access Mode in the properties page for the OLE DB Destination.

Monday, November 12, 2007 4:12 PM

All replies

• Sameer,

The OLE DB Destination does not have a connection string property however the OLE DB Connection Manager that it uses DOES. You can change this connection string so that you are pointing at (e.g.) a different server or a different .mdb file.

What you cannot do however is change the name of the table in the OLE DB Destination that you are inserting into. Well actually you can but the metadata (i.e. column names, types) of the table into which you are inserting must be the same as that selected at design-time.

If you are inserting into 100 identical MS Access databases then you can do this by modifying the connection string property of the OLE DB Connection Manager and looping using the For Each Loop container. If you want to insert to 100 different tables then you need 100 different data-flows.

-Jamie

Sunday, February 5, 2006 7:20 PM