none
Design of Fact Table RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am relatively new to BI and am wondering the pros and cons of a particular design of a fact table and associated dimensions.  In the first case below the fact table would have one row with fields T, N, M for which the codes would come from a dimension (the Tis etc just demonstrate the idea -- would normally be an integer key in place).  

In the second case I have two dimensions - one for the Criteria (T,N, or M) and another table for the actual Criteria values.  This approach would require numerous rows for each ID - again the fact table would just be populated with keys from the two dimensions rather than the actual values seen below.  

Is either of these just plain wrong or are both valid but one is better than the other?   

Thanks kindly for any consideration. 

• Moved by ArthurZ Friday, March 21, 2014 3:02 PM Does not appear SSIS related
    Thursday, March 20, 2014 9:37 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Well I think this is more on OLTP kind of problem then OLAP one.

Few things one needs to considered. 

1. Will there be any other/Additional value needs to be added in future? (Except T,M,N)

2. What will be value if ID 1234 is not related to N or M?

3. What is the relation between (T and Tis) or (N and N3)? Can it linked to One to many?

4. If it's Dimension model, you can combine small dimensions into one dimension.

Hope this will help to get your understanding clear..!!!

Nimesh

Wednesday, March 26, 2014 10:26 AM
  • WHat I would consider is if the Criteria values are fixed and has no possibility to add /modify in future I would go for first option. Also it should be consistent across ID values too.

If criteria can vary betweenm ID values and also number can vary over time then I would go for second approach as that would be more scalable.

Please Mark This As Answer if it helps to solve the issue Visakh ---------------------------- http://visakhm.blogspot.com/ https://www.facebook.com/VmBlogs