none
Advice on multiple instances for SSAS and SSRS RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am currently studying SQL and SharePoint BI features, and I made a humble (read: small) SQL 2012 (SP1) server.

I've been using this server to learn about reports, but now I plan to install SharePoint 2013 with PowerPivot and Analysis Services.

My concern is about the different instance types for SSAS, as well as SSRS.

I would like to use both SSRS in Native Mode and SP integration mode on this server. In previous versions of SQL, to make things easier I would simply have the default MSSQLSERVER instance running SSRS in native mode, and a second instance named SHAREPOINT running SSRS in SP integrated mode.

I have noticed however (as I read the Wrox book Professional Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Reporting Services) that I can now have both SSRS modes under the same SQL instance (in fact the SSRS in SP mode is now a shared feature?) -- for the SSRS to run in both modes, I reckon I wouldn't need to have a second SQL instance just for that. Am I right?

The issue that is bugging me the most is the new options for SSAS mode. I would like to have both the tabular mode and the dimensional mode on this server, and I am wondering what would be the best way to achieve this.

I reckon that I could install the tabular mode in my default instance, and then have a separate SSAS instance running in dimensional mode. However, are there any caveats I should be aware of?

For instance, in the dimensional instance I am planning to only have SSAS installed (no database engine), and have this instance access databases in the default instance. Would that work? are there any considerations I would need to take?

Thanks everybody for the help!

Regards,

P.

Friday, March 8, 2013 2:35 PM

Answers

• Hi pmdci,

We can install Reporting Services with both Native mode and SharePoint mode, please refer to: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/048169b3-512c-41e4-895a-0416eff41268