none
Can't Enable Foreign Key Constraint (Msg 547, Level 16, State 0, Line 15) RRS feed

• Question

• Many foreign keys in our prod databases are not being used. Historically, the integrations team would, in certain circumstances disable foreign keys, insert massive amounts of data, then re-enable the keys. unfortunately, they were not re-enabled properly or many databases were left with FK  Constraint disabled and they are not being used (resulting in bad query plans).

I have been tasked to find the databases and tables that contain disabled FK and found couple already. Since I'm not a developer I just wanted to ensure all due diligence before enabling the FK in prod. so I took following steps:

1.  Restore the prod to QA and tested enabling all disabled foreign keys in the restored db. 
    2. Ran the following statement to enable all FKs that were disabled:

--ENABLE ALL FOREIGN KEYS WITH CHECK CONSTRAINT

USE [MyDB] EXEC sp_msforeachtable @command1="print '?'", @command2="ALTER TABLE ? WITH CHECK CHECK CONSTRAINT ALL"

Got the folllowing error:

Msg 547, Level 16, State 0, Line 15
    The ALTER TABLE statement conflicted with the FOREIGN KEY constraint "FK_dbo.AudLogs_dbo.ActEnroll_ActEnroll_Id". The conflict occurred in database "MyDB", table "dbo.ActEnroll", column 'Id'.

Googling the error landed me to couple of solutions (link below) but I'm really not that expert and I need a little more detailed guidance and if possible steps to resolve this issue.

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/sqlserver/en-US/fbaf71cd-333b-4b37-a83c-63e9478dbd4f/mislead-by-msg-547-error-on-alter-table-add-constraint?forum=transactsql

https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/sqlserver/en-US/50d40f31-acc7-4f8c-b75a-36b155c757db/the-alter-table-statement-conflicted-with-the-foreign-key-constraint-fkbookinghistorybookingref?forum=transactsql