none
Combine seperate lookupsets - find max(), count()? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, my knowledge of SSRS is intermediate.  Enough to have a plan.  But I need just a little assistance.

Here are the functions.

here are my three lookupsets:

-LookupSet(Fields!name.Value, Fields!name.Value, Fields!act_actualend.Value, “AccountActivities”)

-LookupSet(Fields!name.Value, Fields!name.Value, Fields!act_actualend.Value, “AccountContactActivities”)

-LookupSet(Fields!name.Value, Fields!name.Value, Fields!act_actualend.Value, “AccountOpportunityActivities”)

1) How could I find the 'Max()' of all three of these datasets.  The single highest number.

2) How could I find the 'COUNT()' of all three of these datasets.   The total number of rows.

If they can be done separately and then added together using variables, that is an acceptable solution.  Still, I'm just learning syntax here.

THanks

Tuesday, January 20, 2015 4:13 PM

Answers

• Hi ebs_software,

According to your description, you used three lookupset function to retrieve data from other dataset, now you want to select max value and count of values of all three datasets.

I tested the issue in my local machine, we could not select sum and max value returned by lookupset function directly. To workaround this issue, we need to use custom code. For detail information, please refer to the following document:

1. Right-click outside of the report, click Report Properties.
      2. Click Code in left pane, type the code like below:

Public Function AggLookup(ByVal choice as String, ByVal items as Object)

If items is Nothing then
      Return Nothing
     End If

Dim current as Decimal
     Dim sum as Decimal
     Dim count as Integer
     Dim min as Decimal
     Dim max as Decimal
     Dim err as String

current = 0 
     sum = 0
     count = 0
     err = ""

For each item as Object in items

'Calculate count
      count += 1

'Check value is a number
      If IsNumeric(item) then

'Set current