none
Server is completely empty and I can't create a normal database

Question

• I use Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express on Windows 7.

Don't ask me how, but when I was erasing a database I no longer desired, I erased the 'Database' folder on the server.

Pitiful I know, but I am only learning how to use databases this year... and I'm not even learning it on MSSQL.

Every time I try to connect to a new instance, it is created without any folder to place databases and running a script that used to restore a database I have returns an error saying that the token 'RESTORE' is incorrect. This didn't happen before.

I've tried uninstalling SQL Server and SQL SMSE and re-installing. No matter how much I try to erase every residue of past installations, the new installation always recovers the state of the previous one, showing exactly the same server structure and database name.

How do I remake the entire server?

P.S. I'm curious as to why this information is stored in my computer, information that I am unaware of. Is the Server a part of Windows itself? Why can't I control the information the system stores and simply erase any evidence of a previous server so I can create a new one?

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 2:59 PM

All replies

• The database backup store information of the previous location, try to use this sintaxis to specify the new file location

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms186858.aspx#restoring_db_n_move_files

More information How to: Restore a Database to a New Location and Name (Transact-SQL) http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms190447.aspx, the

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 4:37 PM
  • No luck...

I'm not sure you understood my problem: there is nothing on the computer. There is nothing to connect to from de manager. All I see in the panes is a line in the window "registered servers" that has nothing inside.

There is absolutely nothing attached to the database engine.