none
Database size dramatically increases with the addition of an XML Primary Index RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to working with XML in SQL and have experienced something that just doesn't seem right.

I have a table defined as:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[ShipmentHistory](
    	[ShipmentHistoryID] [int] IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,
    	[ShipmentID] [int] NOT NULL,
    	[DateUpdated] [datetime] NOT NULL,
    	[UpdatedBy] [varchar](50) NOT NULL,
    	[ShipmentXML] [xml] NOT NULL,
     CONSTRAINT [PK_ShipmentHistory] PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED 
    (
    	[ShipmentHistoryID] ASC
    )WITH (PAD_INDEX  = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE  = OFF, IGNORE_DUP_KEY = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS  = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS  = ON) ON [PRIMARY]
    ) ON [PRIMARY]

This table has about 500,000 rows in it. The summed length of the ShipmentXML column for all rows is about 1.3 Gb.  The XML on average has about 200 nodes, none of which are more than 3 levels deep.

When I add a primary xml index onto this table, the size of our database goes from about 54 Gb to over 100 Gb. I know that the XML index takes quite a bit of space but this seemed excessive.

Can anyone offer any insight on this?  Does this seem reasonable?

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,

David

Monday, April 23, 2012 6:44 PM

Answers

• Yes this is a bit of a feature of XML indexes.  I've heard figures of between 2-6 times space to store XML.

I have seen space swell when converting between typed and untyped XML which can be reclaimed using DBCC CLEANTABLE but don't think this applies to untyped XML:

DBCC CLEANTABLE ( yourDb, 'dbo.ShipmentHistory' ) GO -- Check the space of the table

EXEC sp_spaceused 'dbo.ShipmentHistory', true GO

Can also you confirm this isn't just transaction log space?
    • Marked as answer by CDavidOrr Monday, April 23, 2012 9:17 PM
    Monday, April 23, 2012 9:11 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• Yes this is a bit of a feature of XML indexes.  I've heard figures of between 2-6 times space to store XML.