TFS 2015 FIPS Issue

Question

• Good Morning,

I'm a system administrator over a closed DoD Network (no internet connectivity) and need to upgrade our existing TFS 2013 Update 4 installation into 2015. A primary issue I've run into is the following error:

"The configuration process for Team Foundation Server cannot continue because FIPS is enabled. Please disable FIPS and try to configure again."

Unfortunately FIPS is a compliance standard that must be enabled on this network. If I disable it temporarily and run the upgrade agent then re-enable it, will TFS 2015 still work?

IT-2 John Dickerson

Friday, August 14, 2015 5:20 PM

Answers

• Hi John,

The upgrade function completed without errors, but once I start the TFS Admin Console the project collections are gone and all of the URLs are missing. When I go to configure them to associate them to the existing databases and websites is when everything is broken. It discovers databases and populates the URLs correctly, but when I "Verify" towards the end is where everything seems to explode. Going into IIS I see that both websites are broken. After the Verify section runs it does have errors but I reverted to a snapshot to correct the unavailability. I'll start sandboxing a duplicate and rerun the upgrade to get you specific error codes and detailed information.

IT-2 John Dickerson

Wednesday, August 19, 2015 8:05 PM

All replies

• Hi John,  

Thanks for your post.

The FIPS is enabled in you system, and your TFS 2013 Update 4 Server is working fine?

If there’s no internet connectivity in your TFS 2013 Server machine, you’re upgrading to TFS 2015 by installing TFS 2015 ISO on TFS 2013 Server machine?

If the FIPS is enabled on your TFS 2013 Server machine and your TFS 2013 Server is working fine, I think you can disable the FIPS temporarily and run the upgrade, TFS 2015 will works too.

Note: make the full backup for  your TFS 2013 Update 4 Server before any upgrade operation.