none
SQL Server Basics

Question

• Hi,

I am new to sql server, thought I have extensive experience (15 years) in all other major RDBMS's (Oracle, MySQL, Informix,...). But now I have to work with SQL server with which I have no experience. I am trying to learn the basics of sql server, I have the following questions:

1> What is the difference between a database user and a database schema? which of these is the owner of a table? I mean, when we refer to a table using it's fully qualified name, is the table name prefixed with the schema name or the name of user who created it?

2> Can a schema contain tables created by different users of the database?

3> When we use grant and revoke (for giving or denying permissions) statements, is  the grantee a user or schema? that is, are permissions granted/revoked to/from  users or schemas?

Can someone please reply to these questions? I will be highly thankful.

Amir.

Friday, December 03, 2010 3:34 AM

Answers

• Hi Amir,

The relation between user and schema is that a user (or role) owns the schema. The owner doesn't have to be the creator, as ownership to a schema can be delegated.

I made an incorrect statement in my previous post, actually owning a schema and has it as default schema is not the same. For example sysadmin can own a schema and set it as default schema for a user.

"Does it mean that tables created by different users are owned by those users, but reside in the schema just for the purpose of grouping... that is, the owner of a table is always a user (who created it), and a schema is just a container of tables, just to group related tables. Is all this correct?" Yes, it is almost correct, except that in Sql Server you can add owners to a table, so a table can have several owners.

For further reference please start with the following links:
    User-Schema Separation

CREATE SCHEMA (Transact-SQL)

Good luck, I will be happy to answer more questions, if I can.

Regards

Istvan