none
Insert into Many to Many tables RRS feed

• Question

• I hope this is the right forum for the question.

I have a small SQL database mainly with three Tables, A) Client table, B) Cars table and C) Join table.
    Why a Join table? Because Cars can be owned by many Clients and Clients can own many Cars.

Right now, my database use no Foreign Key constraints, I do all the hard work by hand. I am new to SQL Server. I read that a Foreign Key constraint with CASCADE would hell simplify the Delete logic, say when a Car is dropped from the database, I would not hunt Clients in the Join table for deletion, it would happen automatically. 

But what about INSERTING? If a new Car comes in the door, I can have anywhere from one to 10 Clients interested. I don't suppose Referential Integrity can make my life simpler, in terms of programming: I still have to create INSERT into the Car Table for the new Car *and* painstakingly iterate the Join table with as many INSERT as necessary to accommodate the number of Clients?

For example, new Car A with 10 existing Clients :

A) INSERT CarName, CarYear, CarPrice in Car table
    B) Retrieve SCOPE IDENTITY (from Car A newly added record )
    C) INSERT CarID=123, ClientID=10 into Join table
    D) INSERT CarID=123, ClientID=15 into Join table
    E) INSERT CarID=123, ClientID=34 into Join table
    G) INSERT CarID=123, ClientID=87 into Join table

… and so on for every ClientID in the list of 10 Clients.

I have a small VisualBasic application that does these INSERTs into a Dataset that uses TableAdapters to automatically send the data to SQL Server and this morning, while testing, I tried to save a new Car into the Dataset, with a bunch of Clients and DID NOT GET AN ERROR: the new Car was indeed inserted into the Car table BUT the 10 or so Clients did not get added in the database. So, of course, when I tried to navigate to that new Car record, I was shocked to find that the Client information had been lost.