none
Pivot table option gray in PowerPivot RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm new to PowerPivot and after checking various forums about it , I found out that its really good tool to handle large data with millions of rows and to still be in the comfort of Excel workspace. I decided to work with a data in .txt with almost 2 millions rows and 250 MB in size. I used power-query to import the .txt file and added it to data model. Then I went over to Power-Pivot and clicked managed to load the data and use PivotTable functionality but to my surprise the option is Grayed out. I cannot create Pivot table report from there. Any suggestions for this issue? could this be bcoz of any data type ?

Friday, March 30, 2018 3:19 AM

All replies

• What version of Excel are you using? Excel 2013 you must add a pivot table from the power pivot window, not the Excel window

Self Service BI Expert using Power Pivot http://exceleratorbi.com.au

Friday, March 30, 2018 6:46 AM
    Answerer
  • What version of Excel are you using? Excel 2013 you must add a pivot table from the power pivot window, not the Excel window

Self Service BI Expert using Power Pivot http://exceleratorbi.com.au

Yes, yes. That's exactly what I'm trying to do to get my desired results but the Pivot Table is "Grayed" out in the Power pivot window. I searched many forums but didn't see any such reported incidents.
    Friday, March 30, 2018 3:11 PM
  • I should have uploaded a screenshot as well to make myself understand better but my account is new and limited so I cannot upload images.

Almost 2 million rows of data. I inserted in a data model and then clicked managed in PowerPivot to open it but the option of Pivot Table is "greyed" out so I cannot do any operation based on it.

Friday, March 30, 2018 3:54 PM
  • If you work with fewer rows.  Will you then be able to insert the table?
    Saturday, March 31, 2018 6:55 AM