none
message: Microsoft Visual Studio Tools for Applicaiton 2015 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am quite new to SQL SERVER. I have installed windows 10 Pro and I need to install SQLSERVER 2017. The first time I tried it out, I couldn't install correctly. Then, I installed Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable and now on the Feature Selection window I get this message: Microsoft Visual Studio Tools for Application 2015 to be installed! I checked my programs and features and see this is installed already on my computer! What should I do to be able to get it recognized by SQLSERVER 2017?

Thank you very much

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 5:09 PM

All replies

• Hi BESTMBAMAN,

According to your description, You failed to install SQL Server 2017 and you have installed Microsoft Visual Studio Tools for Applicaiton 2015 yourself. You failed to install sql server again.

Would you please show us the error message on the installation log: C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\140\Setup Bootstrap\Log

As a solution, I suggest you uninstall this component and manually uninstall the SQL Server 2017 you have installed. You can refer to: How to manually uninstall SQL Server . And reinstall SQL Server 2017.

Hope this could help you .

Best regards,

Dedmon Dai

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 7:49 AM