SQL Server Management Studio setup failed RRS feed

• Question

• Dear friends,

I've downloaded SQL Server Management Studio (17.0 RC1) over 20 times, but none of them can be installed successfully, only showing a message reading "The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable (0x80070570)"
    I've successfully installed SQL Server 2016 Express. However, no Management Studio is included as the last version does. Without the Management Studio, I can do nothing with the local DB, after all, I'm a freshman in SQL Server.
    I'm going to collapse because I can find no clues through the internet at all.

Sunday, December 25, 2016 7:10 AM

Answers

• Hi Carr from Perfect World,

Could you please tell us on which Operation System did you install SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS)? Based on my test, I have installed SQL Server Express 2016 on Windows10 Release14393, when I install SSMS 17.0 RC1, it can work. Besides, when did you meet the error message? When you double-click the setup.exe or at the end of installation?

Based on the error message, this issue can occur in the following scenarios:

1. The %TEMP% is corrupted, you can try to check the Windows temp dictionary. You can run %TEMP% to check if this folder exists. Besides, did you run the setup.exe as Administrator?
    2. Please check the MD5 of the installation media, a DNS hijacking or transmission interruption caused by some reasons may lead the broken of installation media for many times in a period of time. The MD5 of this installation media is 7aac8712f137c2974eae2e6fd34ad2dd. You can use Microsoft File Checksum Integrity Verifier to check it.
    3. The file system is broken, please refer to the reply of Vishe.

If you have any other questions, please let me know.

Best Regards,
    Teige

MSDN Community Support