none
Performance issue with MDX Dynamic time set in multi-select requirement

Question

• Greetings all! I tried to tack on to this old thread https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/sqlserver/en-US/55981f4f-09b8-4958-bd8b-820f12d3d583/mdx-calculation-for-multiselect-in-excel?forum=sqlanalysisservices because it is sooo close to what I am looking for! Alas, nobody looked at it. So I am reposting my issue here.

I am fairly new to MDX and have been fumbling around with different ways to get a YTD calculation with parallel period in as simple fashion that also allows the end user to slice and dice after the time selection is made.  Although I found a nifty example of using a Dynamic Named Set with the Now() function it only works for just YTD and all the slicers are grayed out when I apply it.

What I want is to be able to select any time range in a calendar hierarchy for Year-Quarter-Month-Day, including skipping months or days and end up with a  YTD, Prior YTD and Year over Prior in dollars and percent.  To achieve that in my limited knowledge of MDX I modified another example to traverse down to the Day level using parallel period and looks like this:

CREATE
    DYNAMIC SET CurrentCube.[Days] as
    (existing unorder([Date].[Calendar].[Date]));

CREATE
    MEMBER CURRENTCUBE.[Measures].[PY$]
    AS
    Aggregate
    (
    Generate
    (
    (
    existing nonempty(unorder([Days]))),
    {
    parallelperiod([Date].[Calendar].[Year],1,[Date].[Calendar].currentmember)}
    )
    , [Measures].[Sales]
    ),
    FORMAT_STRING = "$#,##0.00;($#,##0.00)", 
    NON_EMPTY_BEHAVIOR = { [Sales] }, 
    VISIBLE = 1 ,   ASSOCIATED_MEASURE_GROUP= 'Sales';