none
Need help in Fact table designing RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
    I am new to DWH, can you please help me to design Fact table.
    Basically I am working on a Airline Industry project where a customer book a flight and multiples charges apply on a booking and customer can have a single payment or multiple payments.
    Here is my relational database structure :

============
    Booking Table
    ============
    BookingID
    BookingDate
    --------------------

============
    Charges Table
    ============
    BookingID
    ChargeID
    ChargeDate
    ChargeType
    ChargeAmout
    --------------------

============
    Payment Table
    ============
    BookingID
    PaymentID
    PaymentMethod
    PaymentDate
    PaymentAmount
    --------------------

Now I am confuse to take fact table design, how many fact table should I design for this scenario ?
    There are three cases :
    1. A BookingID can have single charge and single payment .
    2. A BookingID can have single charge and multiple payments
    2. A BookingID can have multiple charges and multiple payments

Can you please suggest me the Fact table structure .

Thanks,
    Randhir

Regards, Randhir

Friday, August 3, 2012 6:04 AM

All replies

• Create a single fact table joining all 3 tables. Make cross-joins so that all the information will retain in the single fact table. Then make dimensions on ChargeType, Charge Date, Payment Method, etc. Also make sure to add some additional logic to calculate PaymentAmount because the table you are using have amounts duplicated.

Hope this helps!!

Anish Tuladhar - Do not forget to mark as answer, only if helpful.:)

Friday, August 3, 2012 10:05 AM
  • When jumping into a data warehouse project, you need to realize the problem isn't purely technical but really a business problem. Approach building a data warehouse using the four-step approach that the Kimball group outlines in Chapter 2 of The Data Warehouse Toolkit.