none
Storing and retrieving email addresses SQL 2016 SSISDB RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings I am converting a number of file based 2008 packages from BIDS to SQL 2016 being stored in SSISDB using SSISDT. I am new to using SSISDB and have started using package and environment variables to replace the use of configuration files and it has worked well so far. We have a lot of reports, and are using variables set in a config file to store the email addresses for sending reports and error notification. When I have a change to an email or recipient I can use a file based edit to make mass changes. Works fine but I am storing the same email multiple times as we don't use email groups for this as we have a number of external email recipients among other reasons. I am wondering what others are using to manage the email addresses for reporting/error notifications using SSISDB since config files are gone?  The situation I am not sure how to handle is when we have someone change jobs here, I have to change Jane.doe@email.com to  John.doe@email.com to direct a number of reports to someone,  and I want to do this without redeployment, hopefully as easily as I have been able to with the config file edit.

I would like to try to keep the email addresses out of the database. Storing them in variables or parameters store the emails in the database using ssisdb and I am trying to keep any PII out of the database. 

Thanks

• Edited by Abeljdang Tuesday, November 26, 2019 2:44 PM further clarify
    Friday, November 15, 2019 9:03 PM

All replies

• Hi Abeljdang,

Starting from SSIS 2012 onwards, SSIS supports Project level parameters. All packages in a project can use them for any settings including e-mails.

You can change their values in SSMS manually or programmatically: catalog.set_object_parameter_value (SSISDB Database)

Friday, November 15, 2019 9:08 PM