what is the difference between Creating LOGIN and USERS in SQL sERver 2005? RRS feed

• Question

•  

hi all,

Guys i am new to SQL server.As you know we can create on Login and associate many USERS to that.

As you know when you create LOGIN ,u must choose to which Database is this Login Related?

Now u know that actually when you create a LOGIN a User with the same name will create.

and this user is actually the one for maping to the regarding database,

so what is the use of creating more than one User?I cant understand that pleze help/

Wednesday, August 6, 2008 3:52 AM

Answers

•  simosi wrote:

thanks Madhu,

I read http://vyaskn.tripod.com/sql_server_security_best_practices.htm . it was really cool,

but it doesnt explained that how can we  implement one LOGIN and Many users and then make use of them.

You know my doubt and problem is that if we create many users for one login then after we logged in by our login into SQL SERVER Instance then which user is activated from the defined users for this particular LOGIN>?

From the above mentioned site

User: A valid user account within a database is required to access that database. User accounts are specific to a database. All permissions and ownership of objects in the database are controlled by the user account. SQL Server logins are associated with these user accounts. A login can have associated users in different databases, but only one user per database.

So the point is , you can not create multiple users in a database which mapped to same login .

There are functions which will tell you which login /USER etc

SYSTEM_USER()

CURRENT_USER()

User_Name()

Madhu

SQL Server Blog

SQL Server 2008 Blog

• Proposed as answer by varunragul Monday, March 29, 2010 6:03 AM
    • Marked as answer by Kalman Toth Wednesday, July 27, 2011 4:47 PM
    Wednesday, August 6, 2008 5:40 AM

All replies