none
How to coordinate among multiple developers RRS feed

• Question

•  

What is the best practice in managing an SSIS development with multiple developers.

For example, we have 2 guys that will be developing various SSIS packages for a common data warehouse. We are most likely going to divide up the unit of work by the tables that need to get loaded. So, one guy will develop packages to load tables 1 thru 5 and the other guy will develop packages to load tables 6 thru 10.

Should each person work within his own project? (Not sure what a difference between a solution and a project is, so I may be thinking of a solution.) If so, can multiple people open the same project? I don't think you can.

I'm very new to SSIS and this would be the first time I'm doing something like this. I haven't even deployed a package to the server yet so I'm not even sure what implications/consideration I have before I take on this development effort I'm about to.

Friday, April 4, 2008 4:06 PM

Answers

• A couple of things to consider:

• Use a source control system - SourceSafe, TFS, or something
    • Keep your packages small (one destination table per package is my usual approach). Only one dev can work on a package at a time, so keeping them smaller allows more parallel work.
    • Multiple developers can work on the same project and solution at the same time. They just can't edit the same package at the same time. Don't plan on being able to merge changes to the same package, as you can with C# or other development languages. Merging in SSIS is going to cause major problems.
    • Make sure you are using configurations on the packages. This will making sharing them among the team (and promoting to production) much easier.

Friday, April 4, 2008 4:35 PM