RAISERROR in and database compatability level in SQL 2012 RRS feed

• Question

• First off, I'm a sysadmin and not much of a SQL programmer so take it easy on me :)

We are trying to move an application which runs on SQL 2008 to SQL 2012 and have some issue with the fact that the raiserror syntax has changed in SQL 2012. I do have the database set to compatibility level 100 (2008) so I'm rather confused why this is an issue, isn't this exactly the kind of thing compatibility level is designed to address?

So is this a bug, or is the compatibility level not really fully backwards compatible?

P.S - This is a 3rd party application so modifying it isn't a practical option.

Thursday, April 4, 2013 5:32 PM

Answers

• Compatabiliy level has never meant complete backwards compatibility.  To quote BOL "Compatibility level provides only partial backward compatibility with earlier versions of SQL Server."   And you are correct.  Setting the compatibility does not allow you to use the Raiserror format without the () which was allowed in 2005 and 2008 even though the syntax defined in BOL said they were required.  I don't know of any way around this one except either change the application or don't upgrade to 2012.

Tom

• Edited by Tom Cooper Thursday, April 4, 2013 6:01 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Naomi N Thursday, April 4, 2013 6:42 PM
    • Marked as answer by Assaf Rahav Thursday, April 4, 2013 7:25 PM
    Thursday, April 4, 2013 6:00 PM
  • Just to support Tom's response there was a recent blog on this exact topic

SQL Server Management: Compatibility Levels

For every expert, there is an equal and opposite expert. - Becker's Law

My blog

Thursday, April 4, 2013 6:43 PM

All replies

• What is the problem/error message you receive?  I'm not familiar with a difference between 2008 and 2012 as far as the format goes, the docs show that they are the same.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms178592(v=sql.105).aspx