none
How to fix SQL Server Managment Studio? RRS feed

• Question

• Background:

I am still fairly new to MS SQL (2012).  Our company is converting from Sybase to MS SQL next month and I have been trying out tools to hook our code repository to the database code.  I have tried RedGate SQL Source Control and Agent SVN.  I was having issues linking the RedGate product to our biggest converted test database and was waiting on their support so I uninstalled it to tried Agent SVN.  It seamed to work fairly well.  When RedGate got back to me I uninstalled Agent SVN.

The Problem: 

After I did that, SSMS would no longer start up.  When accessed either from a command prompt of by directly clicking on the application, nothing happens.  When clicking on the product in windows explorer, the cursor might change for a split second.

My Attempts to Fix:

I started by trying to repair SSMS.  No change.

I then uninstalled and reinstalled SSMS.  No change.

I then uninstalled SSMS, uninstalled all things .net, uninstalled all visual C++ items that were installed the same day and the original SSMS install and reinstalled SSMS.  Still no change.

Short of reformatting and reinstalling everything on my development computer, I am out of ideas.

Thursday, April 17, 2014 12:56 PM

All replies

• >Short of reformatting and reinstalling everything on my development computer, I am out of ideas.

It appears that is your only choice. Likely you can start with reinstalling OS. No need to reformat.

One last try: check if Event Viewer has some SSMS related messages. Also make sure Named Pipe & TCP communications configured correctly in SS Configuration Manager.

Kalman Toth Database & OLAP Architect Free T-SQL Scripts
    New Book / Kindle: Exam 70-461 Bootcamp: Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012

Thursday, April 17, 2014 1:28 PM
    Answerer
  • No luck in the Event Viewer.  SS Configuration Manager starts fine but this is just a client computer not the SQL Server install.