none
how to handle "divide by zero" exceptions in my expressions? RRS feed

• Question

• I've got a report where an error introduced by a divide by zero calculation causes the report display to change. It breaks my backcolor expression and also keeps my embedded chart from showing. What I would like to do is put in some logic to handle this error because I know at some point in time bad data will end up in the table that my report runs from.

Can someone tell me how I can handle a error in a calculated column?

I've attached screenshots of the issue.

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/5388/ssrsissue.png

Here's the switch statement that controls the backcolor:

=switch(Fields!Read_Rate.Value <= 90, "Red", Fields!Read_Rate.Value > 90 and Fields!Read_Rate.Value < 95, "Yellow", Fields!Read_Rate.Value > 95, "Green")

I tried to add another clause to this switch for Fields!Read_Rate.Value.ToString = "Infinity", "Orange" but it apparently did not work..

I am still a SSRS Noob so any help here would be appreciated. I put all this work into this report getting drilldown behavior right and one single zero breaks it. Sigh. I don't really have control over the datastore's table constraints either so I can't fix it that way.

• Edited by Vegeta4ss Thursday, March 25, 2010 7:07 PM fixed hyperlink
    Thursday, March 25, 2010 7:04 PM

Answers

• =iif(Fields!numberPackages.Value=0,0,Fields!numberReads.Value/Fields!numberPackages.Value)

ofcourse you can always change it as per your need. but it is just an idea.

mark it as answer if it answered your question :)
    • Marked as answer by Vegeta4ss Thursday, March 25, 2010 7:53 PM
    Thursday, March 25, 2010 7:38 PM

All replies

• =switch(Fields!Read_Rate.Value is nothing or Fields!Read_Rate.Value = 0, "Black", Fields!Read_Rate.Value <= 90, "Red", Fields!Read_Rate.Value > 90 and Fields!Read_Rate.Value < 95, "Yellow", Fields!Read_Rate.Value > 95, "Green")
    Thursday, March 25, 2010 7:07 PM