none
CURRENT WEEK SQL QUERY RRS feed

• Question

• I don't even want to ask as though i know becuase i don't. Im looking for a select statement that grabs current week information based on a date column.  I don't want to pre-set a date range because i want this query to "ROLL" form week to week. Beginning of the week being Sunday and End of the week being Saturday.

Below is as far as i could get.  But basicaly i would like to  WHERE DATENAME BETWEEN 'SUNDAY' AND 'SATURDAY'

Sorry, im a beginner and i know this is no where near close. Please Help

SELECT SALES_DATE, DATENAME(WEEKDAY, SALES_DATE)
    FROM SALES_TBL
    WHERE SALES_DATE BETWEEN

Saturday, May 26, 2012 8:11 PM

Answers

• SELECT SALES_DATE, DATENAME(WEEKDAY, SALES_DATE) FROM SALES_TBL WHERE SALES_DATE > = cast(dateadd(day,1-datepart(dw, getdate()), getdate()) as date) Basically selects all data from last sunday to current date.

Chuck Pedretti | Magenic – North Region | magenic.com

This will work to find the if your user's default language and date format are for the US (where the first date of the week is considered to be Sunday).  For most of the rest of the world, cast(dateadd(day,1-datepart(dw,getdate()), getdate()) as date) will return Monday.  To see this, try running

set language French
    select 'French', cast(dateadd(day,1-datepart(dw, getdate()), getdate()) as date)
    set language British
    select 'British', cast(dateadd(day,1-datepart(dw, getdate()), getdate()) as date)
    set language English
    select 'US English', cast(dateadd(day,1-datepart(dw, getdate()), getdate()) as date)

Even if your only deal currently with US users, it is a good habit to use code which is independent of the date format used by the user.  One way to do that would be to pick a date that you know is a Sunday, (like Dec 31, 1899, but you could use any other date that is a Sunday, and then do

FROM SALES_TBL
    WHERE SALES_DATE >= DATEADD(week, DATEDIFF(week, '18991231', getdate()), '18991231')