Management tools release date? RRS feed

• Question

• Does anybody know when the "SQL Server 2008 Express with Tools" link will be available/released?

It has been "(coming soon)" for a while now!

Thanks,
    Jonny.
    Friday, August 22, 2008 5:31 PM

Answers

• My mistake - yes, for the normal database engine, those features do exist. When I downloaded SS2008 the first database I created was a Compact database - I've never worked with Compact before and used the new install as a first opportunity. There appears to be no diagram support for Compact at all, and as that was the only database I was connecting to, that was the only featureset I saw. I don't know if SSMS05 has this support or not (doubtful, in hindsight).

In any case, sorry for the confusion, and thanks for pointing it out.

Saturday, September 6, 2008 12:24 PM

All replies

• hi Jonny,

it's NOW

regards

Friday, August 22, 2008 10:51 PM
  • I just downloaded SQL 2008 Express with Tools (SQLEXPRWT_x86_ENU.exe) and upgraded an existing 2008 Express.

What the intallation shows is the server with advanced services and no SSMS.

Walter

• Proposed as answer by GushaX Tuesday, January 6, 2009 11:02 AM
    Sunday, August 24, 2008 5:10 AM
  • You need to select the option to install SSMS, it's not selected by default. If you didn't install SSMS you can run the installation again and choose the opption to add features to an existing installation and you can then choose SSMS to add.

Regards,

Mike

• Proposed as answer by GushaX Tuesday, January 6, 2009 11:02 AM
    Sunday, August 24, 2008 6:32 AM
  • Excellent, worked like a charm... thanks.

Walter

Sunday, August 24, 2008 8:51 AM
  • I can't see an option to install SSMS.