none
How To Receive Data From UDP Client? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone, 

I am working on a simple multiplayer game. I wrote a C++ server and I'm now trying to write the client in C# in the Unity game engine. I'm pretty new to networking. I'm a bit confuse on how this works in C#. I've got this so far, but it doesn't seem to work and throws an error: 

IPEndPoint ep = new IPEndPoint(IPAddress.Parse(serverIPAddress), port); UdpClient udp = new UdpClient();        byte[] data = udp.Receive(ref ep);        string s = Encoding.ASCII.GetString(data, 0, data.Length);       

print(s);

The error:

SocketException: An invalid argument was supplied.

System.Net.Sockets.Socket.ReceiveFrom (System.Byte[] buffer, System.Int32 offset, System.Int32 size, System.Net.Sockets.SocketFlags socketFlags, System.Net.EndPoint& remoteEP) (at <735c83e43c004ee998f77c68cf8035da>:0)
    System.Net.Sockets.Socket.ReceiveFrom (System.Byte[] buffer, System.Int32 size, System.Net.Sockets.SocketFlags socketFlags, System.Net.EndPoint& remoteEP) (at <735c83e43c004ee998f77c68cf8035da>:0)
    System.Net.Sockets.UdpClient.Receive (System.Net.IPEndPoint& remoteEP) (at <735c83e43c004ee998f77c68cf8035da>:0)
    client.Update () (at Assets/client.cs:35)

Thanks in advance!

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 9:44 PM

Answers

• Hi Yexx, 

Thank you for posting here.

For your question, you want to how to receive data from UDP client.

I make a simple test on my side, and you can refer to the following code.

Client:

var client = new UdpClient();
                IPEndPoint ep = new IPEndPoint(IPAddress.Parse("ip address"), 11000); // endpoint where server is listening
                client.Connect(ep);
                byte[] bytes = Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes("Hello!");
                client.Send(bytes, bytes.Length);

var receivedData = client.Receive(ref ep);

Console.Write("Client receive data: " + Encoding.ASCII.GetString(receivedData, 0, receivedData.Length));

Console.Read();