none
Removing a Tab Character from a Primary Key RRS feed

• Question

• *****UPDATE*****

The database is SQL Server, apologies for not mentioning that.

I am an applications manager Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne.

The JDE applications for some dumb reason allow you to put tab characters into the primary key.

We have this condition in one of our master files and though the record is old it is giving us fits.

I have given the DBA insturctions on how to find these records.

She tried to update the primary key, using the following statement

update sbdta.f4108 set iolotn= '123ABC   '

where iolotn= 123ABC (unique constraint is violated)

and it gave here a duplicate key constraint message.  It is not a duplicate, it is
    123ABC +Tab.  The database however is ignoring this and treating them as the same value.  Because of our IT auditors the IT department is reluctant to delete an re-enter.  I could do this from the functional side but I want to support them on a datafix however it seems I need to help them through this.

Thanks

• Edited by John M1 Wednesday, January 22, 2020 7:43 PM
    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 8:32 PM

All replies

• In SQL server, you need to make sure if the primary key column is referenced by any foreign keys. If yes, you have to disable them first and then update the primary key column:

UPDATE [schema].[YourTable]
    SET PKColumn = REPLACE(PKColumn, CHAR(9), '')
    WHERE CHARINDEX(CHAR(9), PKColumn) > 0;

And then update the foreign key columns and enable them if they exists.

A Fan of SSIS, SSRS and SSAS

Tuesday, January 21, 2020 10:08 PM
  • This is an ERP system this could be many tables. We've not found tabs for these records anywhere else.

IF it were hanging on a referenced key wouldn't the db throw us a message stating that.

Would the tables show in a log or execution plan?

Tuesday, January 21, 2020 10:52 PM
  • Hi John

Is it Oracle or SQL Server database? I cannot reproduce it on SQL Server