none
Trying to follow a SQL Service Broker Step By Step configuration, what am I missing? RRS feed

• Question

• I've never used SSB before and is looking to implement this due to an issue we recently had with long running queries executing from a trigger.

I'm following the guide below. Looks OK when I run each code and I'm kind of following what is happening.

https://sqlperformance.com/2014/03/sql-performance/configuring-service-broker

Anyway, I wanted to test an email notification. So on the [ProcessingQueueActivation] SPROC, I inserted the lines below (send mail part):

IF @message_type_name = N'AsyncRequest' BEGIN -- Handle complex long processing here -- For demonstration we'll pull the account number and send a reply back only DECLARE @AccountNumber INT = @message_body.value('(AsyncRequest/AccountNumber)[1]', 'INT');

-- ADDED PART START

EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_send_dbmail @profile_name = 'MYPRODILE', @recipients = 'myname@mycompany.org', @subject = 'BROKER TEST', @body = @AccountNumber; -- ADDED PART END -- Build reply message and send back DECLARE @reply_message_body XML = N' ' + CAST(@AccountNumber AS NVARCHAR(11)) + ' ';

I tested it and I got the email when I run the script below.

EXECUTE dbo.SendBrokerMessage
      @FromService = N'RequestService',
      @ToService   = N'ProcessingService',
      @Contract    = N'AsyncContract',
      @MessageType = N'AsyncRequest',
      @MessageBody = N'<AsyncRequest><AccountNumber>04</AccountNumber></AsyncRequest>';

EXECUTE dbo.ProcessingQueueActivation;
     EXECUTE dbo.RequestQueueActivation;

However, when I turn on the AUTOMATE PROCESS (below), I don't get any email at all. I don't see any records on the [ProcessingQueue] and [RequestQueue] so I'm assuming it got processed.

-- Alter the processing queue to specify internal activation
    ALTER QUEUE ProcessingQueue
        WITH ACTIVATION
        ( 
          STATUS = ON,
          PROCEDURE_NAME = dbo.ProcessingQueueActivation,
          MAX_QUEUE_READERS = 10,