none
High fragmentation and primary key RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I am new to a project. I noticed that we have many tables with fragmentation +90%, many more have fragmentation 40%+. Looking at the tables most of them have a clustered primary key which is based on "irrelevant" fields. They don't seem to have made an effort to see if the data is coming in some logical order (say chronological) and try to follow the order of the data. I am also trying to get the DBA to confirm if they run any defrag process. There should be something.

I was thinking that the best solution for the fragmentation is to make the primary key non-clustered, (en mass update). This is also due to the amount of tables.  150+ i need to amend. I will try to check if any indexes can be kept as clustered assuming they are well designed. 

Do you think changing the index to non clustered for the very high fragmentation tables is a good approach? We have database performance issues as you would expect. 

Thank you for any answers.

• Edited by panlondon Wednesday, July 3, 2019 4:16 PM
    Wednesday, July 3, 2019 12:57 PM

All replies

• ##Looking at the tables most of them have a clustered primary key which is based on "random" fields.

With the above statement I assume you are referring to GUID column.

Making GUID as primary key is not the problem but making it as  CLUSTERED is the problem.   

Please mark answered if I've answered your question and vote for it as helpful to help other user's find a solution quicker

Wednesday, July 3, 2019 1:43 PM
  • Hi, "random" it means irrelevant fields to an extent. I will edit my post. Thanks for any other replies
    Wednesday, July 3, 2019 4:16 PM

• I was thinking that the best solution for the fragmentation is to make the primary key non-clustered, (en mass update). This is also due to the amount of tables.  150+ i need to amend. I will try to check if any indexes can be kept as clustered assuming they are well designed.