none
How can I have a clustered key index on an id field that is'nt unique? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!
    I'm kind of new to sql server so this probably sounds like a stupid question to you who been in the game for a while. 

I understand that if you make one column the primary key index it must be unique to be able to make a table seek instead of a table scan when searching for a particular row. However, if I skip the PK and instead make the same column a clustered index key, it is allowed to have duplicates in this column. So when searching for a particular row based on this column, how do sql server know that this is the only row that should be return without doing a full table scan if the column is'nt unique?

Saturday, May 18, 2019 3:10 PM

All replies

• Seems you confuse two different but related things. A primary key is a specific type of constraint. One can choose to create that as either clustered or non-clustered. Behind the scenes the database engine creates an index (clustered or non-clustered) to support that constraint. If you do not specify a cluster option, the database engine will choose one by default (which I think is a confusing decision but those are the rules). 

The term "clustered index key" is a bit confusing (specifically, the "key" part). You can create an index on any column (or set of columns) and choose whether it is clustered or non-clustered. You can have only 1 clustered index per table, so choose wisely. One discussion of the clustered index choice and implementation is here.  

And note that nothing inherently makes a table seek (vs. scan) when searching for a particular row. The query drives (and the optimizer chooses) the logic to locate the matching rows. Also note that your discussion assumes a single column is the primary key or is indexed. Though it might be common, never assume. 

Saturday, May 18, 2019 6:15 PM