Windows Live Messenger email notification not up-to-date RRS feed

• Question

• I have never had this problem before, until I start working at my new job.  My Messenger at work keeps showing that I have Unread emails in my Hotmail Inbox, when there are actually none.

Today I arrived, signed in, and saw (8) emails in the Messenger notification area.  I read and deleted all 8 of them, and when I was done, Messenger showed (5) Unread.  Every other installation of Messenger that I have had updates the email notification immediately - what is the problem here?
    Tuesday, January 8, 2008 1:47 PM

All replies

• I've been haing the exact same problem for a few weeks and I can't find anything on it either.  It is really annoying.  I've been using Hotmail and some form of Messenger for about 5 years and this was never and issue until now.  It is making me mad since it virtually renders that function of Messenger useless if it won't update.

Anyone have any help on this?  Thanks.

• Proposed as answer by JIMJAM. _ Tuesday, May 12, 2009 11:20 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by djartsincModerator Wednesday, July 22, 2009 7:51 AM
    Sunday, January 13, 2008 11:54 PM
  •  

I don't have an answer but mine used to notify me of new emails but now it doesn't...what has Microsoft done?  If it ain't broke don't fix it!
    Friday, January 18, 2008 3:29 AM
  • Is this becoming a digital epidemic?  Now my home one is doing the same thing...  I hope someone gives us an explanation.... and a fix!!

Friday, January 18, 2008 1:11 PM
  • Did anybody ever find out what was/is going on?? mine updates sometimes and other times it doesn't...started around the same time as the original poster....doesn't work properly on any computer I use (and I use numerous).....so I know it's not just a network issue on my end....what's wrong with it and why haven't they fixed it yet???

Tuesday, January 22, 2008 2:51 AM