none
SharePoint Designer 2013 call HTTP web service: DELETE workflow not working RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to create a SharePoint 2013 workflow through SharePoint Designer that will delete a Calendar item based on 2 parameters (Title and Category) once a new item is created where Category='Returned'.  I've started the workflow with a conditional statement of: If Current Item:Category equals Returned.  

Then I'm using the Call HTTP web service action and I have my dictionary built with 2 variables (accept = application/json;odata=verbose and content-type = application/json;odata=verbose) and the URL lookup listed as the string: 
    [%Workflow Context:Current Site URL%]_api/web/lists/getbytitle('[%Workflow Context:List Name%]')items?$select=Title('[%Current Item:Title%]'),Category('Due Back')  The HTTP method is set to DELETE.  

I think my coding in the lookup string is wrong somehow, but I'm not a coder, so I'm not sure where I'm going wrong.  I am very new to SharePoint Designer so any help is appreciated.  Thanks.
    Thursday, June 25, 2020 3:24 PM

All replies

• Hi KMilner,

Here is a sample request to delete ListItem in a specific list using ajax:

$.ajax({
        url: "https://Tenant.sharepoint.com/sites/test/_api/web/lists/getbyTitle('ListTitle')/items(5)",
        type: 'POST',
        contentType: 'application/json;odata=verbose',
        headers: {
            "X-RequestDigest": $("#__REQUESTDIGEST").val(),
            "IF-MATCH": "*",
            "X-HTTP-Method": "DELETE"
        },
        success: function (data) {
            console.log(data);
        },
        error: function (error) {
            console.log(error);
        }
    })

In the url we need to specify the ItemId in items(), in the ajax demo above, the ItemId is 5.

And back to workflow, the header dictionary should as below:

And add condition check for Category and Title in workflow step directly, this is the complete workflow steps and conditions: